Hip Hop Teaching Resources

I have been searching for hip-hop teaching resources, as well as academic journals outside of the ethno realm that an article on hip-hop would slide into. Along the way, I’ve found some pretty good resources and wanted to share. I’ll add these to my resources page as well, but if you know of any others, let me know!

Hip Hop University

Hip Hop Index

Hop Hop Research Portal

Rap Dictionary

Recognize! Hip Hop and Contemporary Portraiture

The Poetics of Hip Hop

The Evolution of Rap Music in the U.S. (with Lesson Plans)

4 comments

  1. OH WOW! I wasn’t aware you existed but glad I found you! Thank you for visiting my blog, I appreciate that very much. I really will be a regular to your blog. #salute

    jerry

  2. You might want to check out the Popular Music Section (SEM) wiki – there was a thread going around for a couple of weeks collecting sources for just this sort of thing. As I understand it’s going up on the site. It’s a pretty big list as memory serves.

  3. Hi just dropping by to say hello and see if you had any updates on this article…the links you gave are pretty good resources. Hope all is well … Happy Holidays!

    1. hey thanks for checking back.. I’ll be updating things quite soon now that I have more time on my hands. I am doing well, thanks… hope you are, too! :)

Leave a Reply

