Festival Brasileiro!

Well, the festival is over. I’m so glad I was able to help a bit with this, get my students involved, meet some amazing musicians, and see some great performances. I even learned how to say “Who Dat?” in Portuguese! I was able to try out a berimbou and repinique, and play in a bateria while learning some traditional rhythms! Some fest photos are below that I took with my iPhone.

In addition to samba, copoeira, and brazilian jazz pictured here, I also got to meet a Brazilian conductor (Daniel Bartholessi) and composer (Harry Crowl), and listen to some fabulous brazilian classical music as well.

My boss and our director of Choral Studies worked their butts off to bring this week-long festival together, and while some of the “behind-the-scenes” logistics were shaky, it came off smoothly, and ended successfully!

These are the folks I got to hang out with:

I wasn’t able to get photos of the amazing Copoeira presentation on Saturday night. My camera died at that point and I had to charge it between segments. It was amazing to spend the week learning all about the sparring, music, and dance that is involved in Copoeira, and then see it culminate in a legit performance.
















Leave a Reply

