Modern Music Void

I realized today that I can name less than 5 new (less than 10 years old) rock/pop/alternative/indie/folk/hip hop groups/bands.

Here are a few musicians I discovered tonight by reading various blog posts, by random clicking, and by word of mouth. They all link to their band sites so you can hear a bit of their tracks if you like:

  • Kim Boekbinder – The Impossible Girl: I know absolutely nothing about this woman, as her bio seems to be nowhere on her website. However, I found her through another wordpress blog post. In particular I like the tune “Big Easy” – but then again, I would. You can listen to her tunes for free and purchase them each on her site for $1.
  • Good Charlotte – Again, I found this group through another blog post. I’ve heard of them before, which is apparently a good thing because I hear they’re quite popular. “Counting the Days” rocks. The group reminds me of being a freshman in college. It’d be great for a road trip track.
  • Khaled – Alternative World Fusion. I like. You can preview the tracks. Rock meets alternative meets middle eastern.
  • Time to work on expanding my repertoire. If there’s anything I should be listening to, let me know.

    P.S. Don’t give me boy bands. Or female versions thereof.

    10 comments

    1. Hmm, is this for your teaching edification or do you want actual good bands? I’m a shameless consumer of pop, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it to a real music person. Otherwise, I also like global fusion — one of my favorites is the Red Elvises and their Russian surf rock.

    2. Hey Sociosound,

      Thanks so much for posting my music on here! I’m so happy and grateful for it! I tried looking for your email on here but couldn’t find it. I’m going to link to your blog through mine.

      I just really want to say Thank You ! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    