Film: Political History of Tibet

Free Tibet

Image via Wikipedia

Below is a 55 minute documentary on the political history of Tibet. Although this video is sympathetic to Tibetans (made in France), I have also been trying to understand from the Han point of view.

Admittedly, I’ve been disturbed by the Chinese propaganda that can be found on YouTube and in other similar venues. Some of these videos look so forced and fake that it makes it difficult not to side with the Tibetans.  Certainly, I’ve been walking around with a “Free Tibet” sticker plastered on my laptops/instrument cases/cars for years (I grew up next door to a Buddhist retreat center), however I feel like I should spend more time taking a gander at “the other side”. I’ve been searching for a video or commentary by a Chinese scholar on the matter, or something objective. If anyone knows of anything like this, let me know.  Instead, I’m finding government-created short films.

Anyway, here’s the film. It’s quite well done:

Leave a Reply

