Update

I’m back on track this week (so far). M’lady is out of town on a business trip – again. It’s all part of the package.  I’m exhausted, and I’ve been tackling with pretty severe anxiety all day, but otherwise this week is much better than last – at least in terms of productivity.

Last night, we went to a Concert Band show – I had forgotten how much fun Sea Songs by Vaughan Williams is for the euph section.  They did great. It is, however, a bit sad to sit in the audience instead of on stage. The ensemble had two graduate conductors as well. While they both did a fantastic job, the second one could have benefited greatly from taking more breaths with his ensemble  – particularly in a piece such as Elegy for a Young American by Lo Presti.  Regardless, they both had great energy.

Today we turned The Kinks’ “You Really Got Me” (1964) into a Gamelan Belaganjur (Indonesian cremation ceremony), with a little bit of kecak mixed in. I can’t wait for this show – should be good! Needless to say, we had fun with it.

The book of the week is Alan Barnard’s History and Theory in Anthropology. I’m leading the discussion on relativism & cognitive science (ch. 7) tomorrow, so feel free to picture me here googling lots of terms for the next 12 hours or so.

Actually, I’m happy to have been assigned that chapter. It’s a great one for debate, and I’m picking up on most all of the concepts.  The book’s a bit dense, but I have a feeling it could be much worse!

Today I’ll leave you with Wayan Balawan , a Balinese electric guitarist who fuses with traditional Gamelan:

4 comments

  1. I sat enthralled through the Wayan Balawan video. It was one of the most exciting jazz/traditional fusions I have seen in a long time. Unlike many attempts at fusion it totally WORKED, with both traditional and jazz-rock musicians on the same wavelength. I could hear parallels with Billy Cobham’s band (a track like “Quadrant 4” perhaps), and with Pat Metheny, and with the Byrds’ “Eight Miles High”. Where Wayan Balawan plays two guitars at the same time he makes percussion instruments out of them, and by doing so draws as close as he can to Gamelan. Terrific stuff – I’m a new fan.

    1. I’m glad you liked it! I just found him via my Professor. Apparently he was the inspiration for the odd belaganjur we’re performing in a few weeks 🙂 I agree – guy’s got skills!

Leave a Reply

