Hubig’s Pies, Zeppelin, Gamelan, & Procrastination

At this point I have a drawer full of posts I want to make.  It’s been a week since I’ve written here, and it’s pretty unheard of for me to go that long without ranting about something, so I apologize if the next few days are inundated with posts.

I’m not sure whether to classify procrastination as an addiction or a disease, but it’s definitely on the top of my bucket list for kicking. I’ve heard it said that once something happens that completely changes your life path (negatively) as a result of procrastination, you grow out of it. I can name about twenty instances like that, and I haven’t “hit rock bottom” yet. It’s a good excuse for me to go to Border’s, slip into the self-help section, and see if I can find a book on the subject.  One issue is that for the first 7 weeks of the semester, I kept track of every single thing I did during the day. I kept myself accountable by writing it all down. I’ve stopped doing that, and now that I’ve stopped, it’s hard to get back into it. Therefore, my only goal for the upcoming week is to religiously complete my productivity chart, even if the numbers aren’t where I want them to be.

This was abstract week – 47 super-detailed pages worth of them on 21 different articles/chapters. I’m not at all happy with how mine came out. This is a bit ridiculous because I know from talking to others in the class that I had a big head start on completing them – I’ve been outlining them as we do them in class. However, I waited until the very last minute to format and flesh out the ideas which meant that I had no sleep for two days. More importantly, it meant that what I turned in was not even close to my best work. It was equivalent of a first draft. I had no time to edit. I am happy with my understanding of the material, however.  You live and learn.

Musically, it’s been a fantastic week. Gamelan is really coming together. I’m feeling confident on all three pieces for our upcoming show. Our presentations yesterday in seminar were about Latin America. I consider that part of the world to be where I have the least amount of knowledge and insight (although saying that, I’m sure I know more than the average Joe – certainly about Brazil & Venezuela). I walked away with several ‘leads’ that will allow me to learn more.

Yesterday, I lectured for an hour on Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, which reminded me how much I love what I do.  I completely underestimated the amount of material I had, and barely got through half of what I wanted – but I was happy that the students said they enjoyed it as they handed me attendance cards on the way out. That made it worth it.

Lastly, my partner came back from a recruiting trip to New Orleans and brought me a Hubig’s pie, a peach Bigshot, an Offbeat magazine, a New Orleans Levee, and an array of Fleur-de-Lis-related gifts. It was like Christmas! I’m glad she had a good trip – I can’t wait to go on Halloween weekend!

Note to self** Ngawang Choephel (see this post) has  been in the news all week, and I have several articles to read and stay updated on.

I’m off to throw my Hubig’s in the microwave…

One comment

Leave a Reply

