Do excuse the randomness…

Right now I’m having a moment where staring at Microsoft Word and reading the same sentence four times leads to nowhere. That is, I couldn’t tell you the topic of the sentence, never mind regurgitate it. This doesn’t happen often, but when it does I get very frustrated.

I’d love to know physiologically what’s going on here. I just ate a great meal about 45 minutes ago – rice, lean protein, veggies, lots of water, and a piece of string cheese (i.e. my sugar’s not low). I haven’t been doing anything particularly taxing to my brain yet today, though I’ve been grading papers for a few hours. I slept great last night and I feel fine otherwise. In other words, there’s no physical reason for this. Hence why I’d like to slap myself out of it. Instead I’ll take a break and scroll through some posts on Google Reader 🙂

(Please excuse the randomness here)

2 comments

  1. “I haven’t been doing anything particularly taxing to my brain yet today, though I’ve been grading papers for a few hours.” Grading is taxing, girl! And so is teaching, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

    I’ve been there, frustrated with the fuzzy thoughts, more times than I can count. I think it’s fair to call it mental exhaustion, or at least a mild case of brain overload. Take care of yourself, there.

  2. Thanks for the reminder! I suppose the grading could have had a toll on my fuzzy self. I haven’t recovered yet for the day, which means I’m up all night writing an assignment.. grrr .

    Will do, Prof! 🙂

Leave a Reply

