Monday, Monday: India, Dog Slobber, Booksto’ Spendin’, NOLA

I’m starting this week off exhausted, but completely caught up on things- it’s a good feeling. I can take a deep breath and jump into my work without tripping over myself, finally. Let’s see how long it lasts. The weekend was productive, also.

I transformed my bedroom into a ridiculous exotic essentialization of Indian culture. I spent an absurd amount of money at Borders Booksmy irrational justification being an attempt to keep their doors open. My partner and I took the dogs on a long walk Sunday morning and found our own “secret garden” in our back yard- a high-banked trail that follows a narrow creek for miles.

I’ve decided the happiest moments in my dogs’ lives translate to my own. Zasha (my husky) is happiest traipsing through mud puddles, getting her white paws as dirty as possible. Spud (my pit) is happiest playing “king of the mountain”,  climbing fallen logs as if they’re Vesuvius or walking along them in true gymnast-balance-beam fashion – held held high, smiling… the occasional slobber droplets that irrigate the tributary-esque cracks of the log.

My major assignments for the week were passed in early this morning. I have to finish some grading, and read a few books that relate directly to my work. With that, it should be a relatively mild week. I’m hoping to get some time to clean the house and perhaps finish unpacking (from August)… and, keeping my fingers crossed here, I’m hoping to get to New Orleans this weekend.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

