productivity & its relationship to place

Sometimes the best academic discourse entails a few sarcastic lines in an email shared between a few folks. I’m not sure why I’m starting off with that, but for today, it works.

Okay listen, I’m sitting in this super posh resort hotel room in Destin for the day. There’s a Harry Potter marathon on ABC-Family, and I have a balcony overlooking the ocean. In other words, I’m set. I wish this could be the setting for all of my weekend work-days. Although I’m planning to run down to one of the resort restaurants to find sustenance, the majority of my day will be spent sitting here on the balcony with the ocean as my soundtrack – grading and writing, grading and writing (okay so there may be a bottle of merlot involved at some point soon).

I have found lately that I need to change my work location quite frequently in order to stay productive. At one point this past week during a marathon three days without sleep, I chose to sit at a friends’ kitchen table for eight hours while everyone in the house slept. It may have been the most productive eight hours of the semester, and I think it was simply due to the venue change. This is why I’m hopeful for the productivity that will ensue out of my current location. I think it’s also because the hotel room is not full of “things.” It’s not cluttered with junk, household things, dogs, dog fur, or piles of books and responsibilities. In other words, it is lovely.

 

So with that rant, I think sitting in a hotel room a couple times per semester on weekends just to get work done may become a personal ritual.

5 comments

  1. Absolutely. I also find that paying attention to when I need a quiet place (e.g. hotel room) and when I need to be around other people (e.g. new, inspiring coffee shop) helps immensely with the productivity. It’s all about balance … well, at least some of it is.
    Good luck with that stack of papers!

  2. I’m SO happy you came! Don’t wait until you’re starving to come down! Need some food to soak up that wine, or your comments on the student papers might get REALLY colorful.

Leave a Reply

